Home   |   Prime Time Sports

Facebook     Twitter     Instagram     YouTube     SignUp   

About the LSI

History  |  LSI Event Elite  |  Tournament Results

During the early 1990s many of Oregon’s best high school boys basketball teams were traveling out-of-state to play in preseason holiday tournaments. While these tournaments provided players with the opportunity to play against other high caliber programs they denied local fans the chance to see Oregon’s basketball talent prior to the season. Preseason basketball media coverage was also limited due to Oregon’s five-week football playoff system which finishes up in mid-December.

To brighten basketball’s spotlight, legendary high school basketball coaches Barry Adams and Nick Robertson and the Oregon High School Coaches Association proposed a preseason tournament in which Oregon teams could play up to four games. These four games would then only count as two against their 22 game schedule maximum. This new arrangement would align Oregon’s competition rules with states like California and Nevada – and allow teams from other states to come to Oregon to play.

The proposal was made to the Oregon School Activities Association (OSAA) and after two years of letters, phone calls, meetings and lobbying, the OSAA Delegate Assembly agreed to the proposed plan. In 1996, with the OSAA’s approval and financial assistance from local sponsors like Les Schwab, the first annual Oregon Holiday Invitational (OHI) was played.

In 2000, the tournament name changed from the Oregon Holiday Invitational to the Les Schwab Invitational to recognize Les Schwab’s continued support of the tournament. In 2001, Fred Meyer was added as the presenting sponsor, and in 2009, Express Employment Professionals replaced Fred Meyer as the presenting sponsor. In 2004, the tournament moved to Hillsboro’s Liberty High School to provide fans with easier access and an intimate, exciting basketball experience.

More than 70 athletes make up the list of LSI Event Elite including:

Carmello Anthony
Marvin Bagley III
Jaylen Brown
Tyson Chandler
Michael Dunleavy Jr
Kevin Durant
Markelle Fultz
Aaron Gordon
Joey Harrington
Brandon Jennings
Terrence Jones
Tywon Lawson
Kevin Love
Dejountae Murray
Michael Porter Jr.
Terrence Ross
Kyle Singler
Ben Simmons
Ndamukong Suh

LSI Event Elite
Copyright © 2008-2021 Prime Time Sports, LLC - All Rights Reserved